Austin Hit & Run Accident Attorney
Recovering Compensation for Victims of Hit and Run Accidents
The only thing worse than getting injured in a car accident is when the driver that hit you takes off. Without the driver, you may be wondering how your expenses will be paid and whether you’ll have to cover the costs of medical bills yourself. Fortunately, you have options, and our Austin hit and run accident lawyer is available to help you take advantage of them so you don’t have to worry about paying out of pocket. At Chris Morrow Law, PLLC, our lawyer’s priority is helping clients recover completely. Attorney Chris Morrow accomplishes this goal by thoroughly investigating accidents, connecting injured clients to trusted medical professionals, and putting his litigation skills to work. He can also protect you from insurance companies that may be tempted to offer you less than what you deserve.
On This Page:
- Texas Hit & Run Laws
- What to Do After Your Accident
- How To File a Case Against a Hit & Run Driver
- Do Insurance Companies Cover Hit & Runs?
- How Long Do You Have to Report a Hit & Run in Texas?
Like most other states, Texas law requires all drivers to stop if they’ve been involved in a car accident that results in injuries, fatalities, or property damage. When drivers fail to stop or provide their information, they can be charged with leaving the scene of an accident, an offense that can range from a misdemeanor or felony depending on the damages involved.
Some of the criminal charges and penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are as follows:
- Third-degree felony: When drivers leave the scene of a crash that results in serious injury or death, they can be punished by two to 10 years in state prison. Less serious injuries are felonies that can be punished by up to a year in county jail, five years in state prison, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
- Class C misdemeanor: Drivers can face fines up to $500 if the hit and run involved damaged to a vehicle totaling less than $200.
- Class B misdemeanor: If damage to a vehicle is more than $200, at-fault drivers can face up to six months in county jail.
Drivers can also face these charges if they hit a parked car and fled without leaving behind their contact information. Unfortunately, the reality of hit and run accidents is that many drivers who flee the scene are never caught by police.
There are a few reasons why a driver may feel tempted to flee the scene of an accident, one of them being that the driver is fearful of being arrested. The driver may have been under the influence of drugs or alcohol at the time of the accident and fear getting a DUI, or they may have an active warrant out for their arrest already and are evading the authorities. Some drivers flee the scene because they don’t have a valid driver’s license or lack insurance coverage.