Uninsured Motorist Accidents
Being involved in a collision with an uninsured motorist can leave you with many questions about how vehicle damages and medical bills will be paid for. Since Texas is considered an "at-fault" state, drivers must carry minimum liability insurance that covers $30,000 in bodily injuries per person and $60,000 per accident. The state also has one of the lowest rates of uninsured motorists, with only 8.3% of drivers having no insurance.
Still, the millions of roadway users in Texas are at risk of being involved in a collision with an uninsured motorist. Fortunately, the state provides an insurance policy option that can safeguard you in these scenarios.
What to Know About Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Insurance companies are required to offer uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage to all drivers in Texas. Policyholders will often find that they already have some form of this coverage in their comprehensive plan but may be able to purchase additional limits or reject it outright in writing. In doing so, they are protected if an uninsured motorist causes a collision resulting in bodily injury or property damages.
With UM/UIM coverage, you are also covered if involved in a hit and run accident, so long as you file a claim under this policy.
What if I Don’t Have UM/UIM Coverage?
As an at-fault state, Texas allows you to take legal action against an uninsured motorist for the damages they cause. Even if you do not have UM/UIM coverage, you may be eligible for compensation. Working with an experienced car accident attorney helps you understand the claims process and pursue the most desirable outcome.
Car Accident? Call (512) 641-5232
Our Austin attorneys are dedicated to helping you hold negligent drivers accountable for the injuries they cause. If you were involved in a collision with an uninsured motorist that resulted in your injury, Chris Morrow Law, PLLC is here to help.
To schedule a free consultation, call (512) 641-5232 or fill out this short form.